Fire Service staff recognised for their exceptional work at Herefordshire Medals and Awards Ceremony

Chief Officer's award for charity.

On Thursday 30 November 2023, HWFRS staff were honoured for their outstanding service and commitment to the fire service and members of the community were recognised for special commendation awards at the annual Herefordshire Medals and Awards Ceremony, held at the Town Hall, Hereford.

The Lord Lieutenant of Herefordshire, Mr Edward Harley CBE presented His Majesty The King’s awards in recognition of Long Service and Good Conduct for 20, 30 and 40 years uniformed service and the Vice-Chairman of the Fire Authority, Cllr Roger Phillips presented service awards for 30 years of service.

Martha Trust, Hereford was also recognised and presented with a Chief Fire Officer’s Employer Award in recognition of the exceptional contribution they have made to the safety and wellbeing of our local communities by releasing On-Call firefighters – Lisa Purslow (centre right), Laura Morris (centre left) and FF Pete Griffiths are shown receiving their award from CFO Jon Pryce.

Chief Fire Officer, Jonathon Pryce, presented the Chief Fire Officer’s Certificate of Commendation to:

· Matthew Crouch, Ethan Pitt,

Darryn Edwards and Kevin Giles

in recognition of their actions on 11 March 2023 when as a part of a team they responded to a challenging rescue of a man in the Black Mountains.

Chief Fire Officer, Jonathon Pryce, presented the Chief Fire Officer’s Letter of Appreciation to:

· Stephen Bloomfield in recognition of his actions on 18 November 2022, when he assisted a gentleman in need of urgent medical attention.

· Tom Moss, Adam Lockley-Holder, Stuart Davies, Mark Gordon and Steven Williams in recognition of their actions on 20 December 2022 when they provided life-saving medical support to Tom’s father.

Vice-Chairman of the Fire Authority, Councillor Roger Phillips, presented the Chairman’s Certificate of Commendation to:

· Deborah Davies in recognition of her involvement in setting up and developing the Women@HWFire Group.

The Chief Fire Officer, Jonathon Pryce, also presented the following award on behalf of the Fire Fighters Charity:

· Shane Kittner – HWFRS Supporter of the Year Award for 2022-23.

Chief Fire Officer Jonathon Pryce said: “It was an honour to once again be able to formally recognise some of the fantastic achievements and commitment of our staff and members of the community.”

He continued: “All of the accolades given were very well-deserved and many recipients have contributed towards keeping the people of Herefordshire and Worcestershire safe.”